Hume & Hovell Walking Track
The Hume and Hovell Walking Track stretches over 440km between Yass and Albury and allows walkers to rediscover the route of explorers Hamilton Hume and William Hovell on their expedition to Port Phillip in 1824.
Tumut Turf Club - Historic Grandstand
Come down and discover the picturesque Tumut Turf Club. Tumut Turf Club is one of the oldest Race Clubs in NSW having commenced racing in the 1850′s.
Festival of the Falling Leaf's Rock the Turf
Headline bands will be appearing at this music fest. This amazing event is held at the end of April or early May annually.
Come along and taste some delicious Ciders anywhere!
Lanterns on the Lagoon and Scuptures in the Park
Lanterns on the Lagoon and Sculptures in the Park is a festival celebrating reflection, sustainable art and sculpture in Tumut, held on the third Saturday in September.
Batlow Apple Blossom Festival
Come along and join the festivities of the Batlow Apple Blossom Festival. The festival is held every year on the third Saturday in October.
Festival of the Falling Leaf
Autumn in Tumut offers one of the most spectacular display of ‘ seasonal colours’ to be found anywhere in New South Wales. The festival is celebrated at the end of April or the first weekend in May.
Old style houses in Tumut.
On the historic buildings heritage walk of Tumut, many houses are mentioned.
Old Butter Factory
The first butter factory was on the site in Doepel Street was opened in October 1906, and was built by well known local builder George Moore for the Upper Bellingen Co-operative Society Ltd. at a cost of 554 pounds.
Adelonia Theatre Mural
The Adelonia Theatre was privately built in the 1920s and gifted to the Adelong Community in the 1960s.
Tumut Art Society
It was 57 years ago when Lyle Baker gathered a small group of enthusiastic painters and formed the Tumut Art Society.
The wetlands is Crown Land dedicated as a permanent Common on 18th November 1870. Tumut Shire Council are the Trustees.
The heritage listed theatre was designed by Kaberry & Chard in 1929 for local draper JJ Learmont and build by Joseph Nysen.
The Tumut Museum collection features Miles Franklin memorabilia and early agricultural machinery.
One of only 5 McDonald truss timber bridges remaining in New South Wales, the heritage listed Junction Bridge in Tumut is the only existing triple span arrangement. The Junction Bridge was originally called the Shelley Bridge.
Tumut Railway Precinct
The heritage listed Tumut Railway Station was opened on 12th October 1903 on the Tumut Branch Line from Cootamundra.
Tumut Pioneer Cemetery
The very earliest death recorded in the cemetery is that of M O’Mara in 1841 or 4. The earliest recorded birth dates are those of Isabella Rankin and Thomas Quilty in 1786. Burials ceased at the Pioneer Cemetery at the [...]
Tumut Catholic Church
The foundation stone of the first Catholic Church of St Mary’s of the Immaculate Conception was laid in 1858 by His Lordship Bishop Polding, the Bishop of Sydney. It took just 14 months to complete but eighteen years later the [...]
All Saints Anglican Church
All Saints Anglican church the elegant gothic revival brick building is classified by the National Trust (NSW)designed by the eminent architect Edmund Blacket was built from 1875 by Fred Kindred and finally consecrated complete with tower which was gifted to [...]
Adelong Falls Gold Mill Ruins
Take a wander through the historic Adelong Falls Gold Mill Ruins, see close-up the gold processing works and enjoy the beauty of the rocky Adelong Creek. This hidden gem is the perfect spot for a picnic, taking some stunning photographs or [...]
Adelong Heritage Walk
Adelong is a charming and historically important town nestled on the bank of the Adelong Creek. The main street is classified by the National Trust (NSW) with some buildings dating back to the gold rush. Take the heritage walk around [...]