Adelong is a charming and historically important town nestled on the bank of the Adelong Creek. The main street is classified by the National Trust (NSW) with some buildings dating back to the gold rush and the nearby Adelong Falls Gold Mill Ruins experience is significant as so much of the gold mining equipment is still intact.
Adelong is a charming and historically important town nestled on the bank of the Adelong Creek. The main street (named Tumut Street) is classified by the National Trust (NSW) with some buildings dating back to the gold rush.
Take the heritage walk around Adelong’s historic streets to see the many interesting and National Trust-listed buildings including a single-storey private house on the corner of Havelock Street – built in 1873, it is a rare extant example of a miner’s cottage.
The township of Adelong today is both defined and surrounded by its golden heritage. There are remnants of Adelong’s booming gold mining days in the heritage-listed Adelong Falls Gold Mill Ruins – a must see destination situated 1.5kms from Adelong.
The Adelong Falls Gold Mill Ruins experience is significant as so much of the gold mining equipment is still intact. See original gold mining equipment, inspect the stone ruins and pan for gold just as the fossickers and miners did back in the 1860s and 1870s.
The Adelong Alive Museum has a scale model of the Reefer ore crushing mill and working models of ore crushing machinery together with information on the Adelong and district gold rush.
Today, Adelong services the historic Adelong Falls Gold Mill Ruins and is a service centre for surrounding farms, which are predominantly cattle, sheep and orchards. Its easy access to the Snowy Mountains make it an ideal stopover point.
Venture further afield to see stunning natural landscape and visit other area towns including Batlow which produces a range of apple varieties and other fresh fruit and Tumbarumba, where you can taste the locally grown wines in.
Gold was originally found in Adelong in 1852, with alluvial mining along the Adelong Creek.
Alluvial gold was originally found at Upper Adelong in 1852. A gold field was declared in 1855. The township of Adelong came alive when gold was discovered in large quantities by Wilham Willams on Charcoal Hill in 1857.
The discovery opened up a many veins of hidden wealth and by the time the Reefer ore mill ceased operation in 1914, the Adelong Creek and the hillsides had yielded over 25 tonnes of reef and alluvial gold, worth in excess of $300 million by today’s standards. Further down the creek at Grahamstown another 26 tonnes of gold was recorded.