Dad, Dave, Mum and Mabel
A tribute to Steele Rudd’s famous “Snake Gully” characters, Dad, Dave, Mum & Mabel, this life size family has been immortalised in copper by sculptor Aurel Ragus. The characters are on display in Carberry Park adjacent to Gundagai Visitor Information [...]
The Dog on the Tuckerbox
An internationally recognised Australian icon, the Dog on the Tucker Box is located 5 miles (8 km) north of Gundagai, just off the Hume Highway.
St Clement's Retreat (Monastery)
St Clement’s at Galong became a home for the Redemptorists in 1917, when ‘Galong House’ and its surrounding 800 acres, the home of “Ticket of Leave” convict Ned Ryan, was left to them by his son, John Nagle Ryan M.L.A.
The cemetery lies about a kilometre to the east of Galong House (monastery) and is likely to date back to the 1830s. In 1987 the National Trust of Australia classified Galong Cemetery recognising its historical and cultural significance.
Galong may be slightly off the main road network but it is a must-see for passers-by.
Captain Moonlites Grave
One of the local bushranging tales surrounds the exploits of Andrew George Scott – better known as Captain Moonlite. Unlike other bushrangers, Scott was from a wealthy, educated family. With a shady background as a trickster and robber, he assembled [...]
Old Gundagai Gaol
Following the devastating 1852 flood, the town lock-up needed to be rebuilt as a watch-house or gaol. Alexander Dawson, the colonial architect, designed the building and Charles Hardy won the tender for its construction in 1859. Hardy and Hodson builders [...]
Gundagai is home to a truly unique, private collection of historic photographs which are now internationally known as the Gabriel Collection.
The town Doctor in Gundagai from 1887, Dr Charles Louis Gabriel was also a keen amateur photographer. Local businessman Cliff [...]
The landscape at Gundagai is dominated by four bridges spanning the Murrumbidgee flats: the historic Prince Alfred Bridge, the timber Railway Bridge, and now the dual Sheahan bridges of the Hume Highway.
Gundagai Historical Museum
Those interested in history will find the Gundagai Historical Museum fascinating. It is a treasure trove of memorabilia, with displays of pioneer life, bushrangers and even Phar Lap’s saddlecloth.
Historic Gundagai Railway Station
The Gundagai Railway station was built in 1885 and was officially declared open for public use on the 1st June, 1886. First services along the new branch line were the service contractor trains and then as the line was officially [...]
Rusconi's Marble Masterpiece
The sculptor of the famous Dog on the Tuckerbox, Frank Rusconi, also left another impressive legacy for Gundagai in the form of a unique cathedral-in-miniature. Coined ‘Rusconi’s Marble Masterpiece’, Rusconi wanted to showcase the diversity and beauty of NSW marble.
Stockinbingal is a small village of approximately 250 Residence, situated on the Burley Griffin Way, 410 Kilometres South of Sydney.
Wallendbeen is a small village within the Cootamundra Shire.
Cootamundra Arts Centre
The Arts Centre Cootamundra exists to
provide a venue and facilities for Arts activities in the Cootamundra Shire
promote the development and expansion of the Arts in the Shire
support local artists and performers in their artistic careers
contribute to the cultural development of [...]
Cootamundra Heritage Centre
Located in the old Railway Barricks giving you a glimps at the past of Cootamundra
The seemingly randomly arrayed village centre of Binalong is one of the most charming in Australia, with the old general store, bank and classic country hotel evoking a placid setting for a village once beyond the limits of civilisation of [...]
Murringo is a tiny historic village located 25 km east of Young and 137 km from Canberra (via Boorowa). It is one of those Australian villages where time has stood still. Driving through it today it is hard to imagine [...]
Cootamundra is the birthplace of cricket’s greatest batsman, Sir Donald Bradman. This important railway town surrounded by crops of canola is popular with nature lovers who come to see the extravagant blooming of countless Cootamundra wattle trees in July and [...]
Gold Mining and Agriculture made Gundagai both prosperous and a centre for bushranging, which is immortalised through poems and songs such as Where the Dog Sits on the Tuckerbox, and Along the Road to Gundagai that has gave the town a [...]
Harden and Murrumburrah have a delightful old-world feel. The Shire has a rich gold rush history including many encounters with Bushrangers including the shooting of Sargent Parry in the Shire village of Jugiong.
With a rich and colourful history of settlers, bushrangers, gold and convicts – from enticing prospective miners by posting rewards for finding gold in the region, bushrangers to Ben Hall, Johnny Gilbert, John Dunn and John O’Meally holding up the Webb and Crego’s store in [...]
St Mark’s Church, Currawong
The Roberts family built the bluestone Anglican Church 10 km northwest of Murrumburrah in 1918-19 adjacent to Currawong Station, where James Roberts sheltered 1,274 Chinese miners from the Lambing Flat riots in 1861.
The neat little cemetery in the grounds of [...]
Chinese Cemetery, Murrumburrah
The Chinese section in the south-east corner of Murrumburrah Cemetery is the burial site of at least 21 Chinese men aged from 39 – 85, who died between 1881 and 1925. Their occupations included vegetable gardeners, cooks, storekeepers, miners, labourers, [...]
Harden-Murrumburrah Historical Museum
The Harden-Murrumburrah Historical Museum is housed in the imposing 1912 School of Arts building and features the local history of gold mining, agriculture, railways, the 1st Australian Light Horse regiment and domestic life.
Displays include a blacksmith’s and wheelwright’s premises (1874 [...]