Oberon offers something for everyone. Explore the world-renowned Jenolan Caves with their spectacular natural rock formations. Try trout fishing on beautiful Lake Oberon. You’ll see many different species of Australian native birds in their natural habitat and enjoy spectacular scenery, food and wine.
The town of Oberon is situated on the western fail of the Great Dividing Range. At 1,113 metres above sea level, the town enjoys all fours seasons – cool summers, balmy autumns, cold crisp winters and lush springs
The Town Common in Edith Road on the edge of town has a band rotunda, a picnic area and a small lake. It is a perfect place for a picnic being quiet and particularly beautiful in autumn and spring. In autumn the Edith Road just beyond the Common has a spectacular stand of Lombardy poplars which turn a sublime yellow.
The rare activity of truffle hunting occurs in June, July and August. If you have a weakness for Black Perigord truffles then heading off with the truffle dogs in search of the “black diamonds” is a lot of fun – and something very few other people get to do.
Prime lambs and beef cattle are the main rural industries. Brussel sprouts, broccoli, potatoes and peas are the main horticultural industries, although there is some diversification in this area. Tree nurseries, nut tree plantations, wineries, bulb farms, new ventures and experimental enterprises are developing.
Jenolan Cave, Kanangra Boyd National Park and Abercrombie River National Park are in the shire and contain much to interest the visitor besides spectacular scenery.
The town is ringed by interesting villages and, further afield, larger centres, which allow visitors to use Oberon as a base from which to enjoy a variety of day excursions.
Lake Oberon on the outskirts of the town is a renowned trout-fishing water. Swimming is not permitted as this water is used for domestic supply. Unpowered and electric powered vessels are permitted on Lake Oberon.
Wonderful streams offer excellent trout fishing in season.
In 1813 explorers Blaxland, Lawson and Wentworth found a way across the Blue Mountains to the western plains.
The lush countryside attracted other settlers and grants of land began to be taken up along the Fish River and the Campbells River in the 1820s.
The early pioneers knew Oberon as Bullock Flat. Permanent settlement in the district began in 1839 but it was not until 1863 that the name was changed to Oberon (taken from the King of the Fairies in Shakespeare’s “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”) and it was declared a village.
Gold was discovered on the Fish River in 1823 and this gave the area a boost in population.
There have been many silver and copper mines in the district and the area is still well known for its sapphires and gemstones which attract many fossickers.
In 1949 the first stage of the Fish River Water Supply known as Lake Oberon was completed. This important water supply project brought many workers and their families to the district. The project was completed in 1958.
The plentiful supply of hardwood in the district attracted the attention of the Broken Hill mines in 1938 and the timber was transported by rail to be milled at Broken Hill for pit props.
As hardwood areas ran out they were replanted with Pinus Radiata by the Forestry Commission. The timber industry has become increasingly economically important to Oberon and has further swelled the population.
Oberon’s proximity to Jenolan Caves, the Kanangra Boyd National Park, and its unique climate and spectacular scenery as contributed to the continuing growth of the town.