Tumut Catholic Church

The foundation stone of the first Catholic Church of St Mary’s of the Immaculate Conception was laid in 1858 by His Lordship Bishop Polding, the Bishop of Sydney.  It took just 14 months to complete but eighteen years later the building was found to be too small for the congregation.  The current church built of blue trachyte rock was built and officially opened on November 24th 1878.

For more information go to:  www.visittumut.com.au

There are no recent posts with featured images.

About

Physical address

Carey St, Tumut NSW 2720

 

Explore other Gold Trails Attractions Nearby

Show On Map

Explore Our Gold Trail Towns

Explore Gold Trail Towns!