Nestled in the Snowy Mountains foothills with the beautiful Tumut River flowing along the edge of the town, picturesque Tumut offers quiet walks, kayaking, trout fishing and the laid back ambience that only the gurgle of flowing water can create.
Tumut – a name derived from an Aboriginal word meaning “a quiet resting place by the river”- is today, a picturesque hub at the foothills of the Snowy Mountains with a population of around 6000.
It’s a region rich in natural beauty, offering fresh adventure experiences and stunning landscapes that change with the seasons – crisp, cold mountain air in winter, lush and green in spring, cool, clean waterways in summer and the blaze of colour in autumn.
Go touring and you’ll be refreshed by the natural beauty of Tumut town, the historic streetscape and heritage gold sites of Adelong, the inspiring scenery around Talbingo and the sweet, crisp flavour of an apple from Batlow.
Tumut town itself, at the northern gateway to the Snowy Mountains, is part of the Snowy Mountains Hydro-Electric Scheme in the Tumut River Valley.
By any measure Tumut is an exceptionally pretty country town. The early Tumut settlers planted poplars and willow trees resulting in spectacular displays in summer and autumn. The Tumut River offers quiet walks, kayaking, trout fishing and the laid back ambience that only the gurgle of flowing water can create.
Take a look at Tumut’s many historic buildings including the Court House and Police Station, the All Saints Anglican Church, the many fine hotels and Bank Corner.
About 80km from Tumut are the beautiful Yarrangobilly Caves, and a nearby thermal pool that’s perfect for a winter dip.
Autumn in Tumut offers one of the most spectacular displays of ‘seasonal colours’ to be found anywhere in New South Wales. Each year, Tumut hosts the Festival of the Falling Leaf to celebrate the arrival of autumn and the falling leaves that characterise the town’s many parks and gardens.
Tumut’s modern history began when explorers Hamilton Hume and William Hovell came across a lush green valley, through which meandered a large river, in November 1824.
The first settlement was Mill Angle and the first bridge over the river was built in 1850. A flood two years later consolidated the various hamlets into one village and Tumut as it is today was born.
Alluvial gold was originally found at Upper Adelong in 1852 and the gold field was declared in 1855 and in 1854 prospectors converged on Reedy Creek, the name by which the township of Batlow was first known