Gundagai Historical Museum

Gundagai museum is a showcase of Gundagai history with donated items from the community. From the Model T Ford at the entrance to the old bark hut you can also find farm machinery, wagons, equipment, clothing, coins, stamps, household items and other interesting paraphernalia from the 19th and early 20th century.. One highlight of the [...]

Dad, Dave, Mum and Mabel

A tribute to Steele Rudd’s famous “Snake Gully” characters, Dad, Dave, Mum & Mabel, this life size family has been immortalised in copper by sculptor Aurel Ragus. The characters are on display in Carberry Park adjacent to Gundagai Visitor Information and Travel Centre on Sheridan Street.

The Dog on the Tuckerbox

An internationally recognised Australian icon, the Dog on the Tucker Box is located 5 miles (8 km) north of Gundagai, just off the Hume Highway.

Captain Moonlites Grave

One of the local bushranging tales surrounds the exploits of Andrew George Scott – better known as Captain Moonlite. Unlike other bushrangers, Scott was from a wealthy, educated family. With a shady background as a trickster and robber, he assembled a gang of five in Victoria, then moved north to Wagga Wagga, and on to [...]

Old Gundagai Gaol

Following the devastating 1852 flood, the town lock-up needed to be rebuilt as a watch-house or gaol. Alexander Dawson, the colonial architect, designed the building and Charles Hardy won the tender for its construction in 1859. Hardy and Hodson builders completed further additions in 1861, and in 1863 a kitchen was built for the gaol, [...]

Gabriel Gallery

Gundagai is home to a truly unique, private collection of historic photographs which are now internationally known as the Gabriel Collection. The town Doctor in Gundagai from 1887, Dr Charles Louis Gabriel was also a keen amateur photographer. Local businessman Cliff Butcher found some 1000 of Dr Gabriel’s glass negatives in the basement of a [...]

Historic Bridges

The landscape at Gundagai is dominated by four bridges spanning the Murrumbidgee flats: the historic Prince Alfred Bridge, the timber Railway Bridge, and now the dual Sheahan bridges of the Hume Highway.

Historic Gundagai Railway Station

The Gundagai Railway station was built in 1885 and was officially declared open for public use on the 1st June, 1886. First services along the new branch line were the service contractor trains and then as the line was officially opened up to Gundagai, passengers and mail/freight were allowed to be added to the train [...]

Rusconi’s Marble Masterpiece

The sculptor of the famous Dog on the Tuckerbox, Frank Rusconi, also left another impressive legacy for Gundagai in the form of a unique cathedral-in-miniature. Coined ‘Rusconi’s Marble Masterpiece’, Rusconi wanted to showcase the diversity and beauty of NSW marble.

Cootamundra Heritage Centre

Located in the old Railway Barricks giving you a glimps at the past of Cootamundra